fullgood.blogg.se

Voice assistant app for mac
Voice assistant app for mac








Making ReservationsĪsk Siri to book you a table at your favorite and more often than not, you'll get an apologetic message that it can book a table right now. Winner: Google Assistant recognized my speech more accurately, and the Google Maps tie-in negates Siri's home-field advantage on the iPhone. Using Google Assistant, I could also summon up alternative directions in Google Maps, like taking a different bridge to reach the San Francisco Airport instead of the Siri-mandated Bay Bridge route. I asked Siri for directions to my daughter's elementary school, which is named after the artist Maya Lin Siri thought I wanted to go to Myland Park Elementary School, plotting out the 2600-mile journey from my house to Morgantown, West Virginia. Google Assistant seems to do a better job at understanding the names and places of where you want to go. But for the most part, Siri's a great way to access whatever tracks you have stashed in your library.

voice assistant app for mac

#Voice assistant app for mac movie#

Siri can sometimes stumble on song titles - when I asked it to play "Desperado," it thought I wanted to download the 1995 Robert Rodriguez movie as opposed to listening to the Eagles standard. You can use Siri to play songs, pause them or fast-forward to the next tune, all without ever opening the Music app. We're back in Siri's wheelhouse, at least when it comes to controlling music playback. Winner: Google Assistant seems more adept at picking up on the context of your questions, even vaguely worded ones, than the other two assistants. Only Google Assistant, though, successfully listed nearby theaters when I followed up with "Where is it playing?" Siri didn't understand the question Cortana gave me another list of search results, led off by the definition for "playing." (When I phrased the question as "What day is Christmas this year?" Google Assistant told me the date for 2016 only when I rephrased it to "on this year" did Google Assistant produce the right answer.Īll three assistants also were able to rattle off the stars of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. Google Assistant was the only one to successfully answer all four questions, though it stumbled a bit when it came to Christmas. I asked four questions of each assistant: So which of the assistants available on your iPhone does the best job at tracking down those answers? Looking Up AnswersĪt some point during the day, you're going to come up with a burning question you're just dying to answer, but you don't want to endure the vagaries of a web search to find what you're looking for. There's no better choice when it comes to hands-free communication.

voice assistant app for mac

(That is when Cortana was able to understand me: three times out of five, it misheard my wife's last name and left the contact info blank.) When I told it to send an email to my wife, it pulled up a message with her contact info filled in - and from my Gmail account no less. At least, Cortana doesn't require a specific mail client. Ask it to send a text or email, and it will pull up a blank message with the contact filled in, but you've got to do the actual typing. Cortana's even less adept with messaging.








Voice assistant app for mac